The Truth About Rejection…Jay Lynch

21 Aug

One of the founding fathers of the 60’s Underground Comix movement (the creative brain behind Nard n’ Pat, as well as the super-influential Bijou Funnies), cartoonist Jay Lynch’s work clearly captured the imagination of the campus counterculture, while just as prevalently entrenching itself into the mainstream consciousness of generations of countless school kids via his role as veteran contributor to Topps (with credits including Bazooka Joe, the Garbage Pail Kids, Wacky Packages, and a great 90’s Duckman comic book), plus the one-and-only MAD Magazine. Here is the just-as-busy-as-ever Mr. Lynch’s take on the whole rejection business.       

Jay Lynch:

I haven’t done all that much stuff on speculation since I was a teenager in the early ’60s. There were lots of magazines then…so I’d send in batches of roughs, and the ones that were rejected I would just send to other mags in the same category.  

Rejection slips never bothered me.  It was just part of the business.  But later, I published my own stuff.  Editors saw it and assigned me projects for pre-agreed upon amounts of money.  From that point on, there were no rejections.

Sometimes I do roughs for the Topps trading cards on spec.  If they are rejected I just hold on to ’em and submit ’em 20 years later. Maybe by 2050 they will be able to print my rejected Garbage Pail Kids card of a [CENSORED]. Comedy is tragedy plus time, they say.  So maybe tragedy is comedy minus time?  I don’t know.   

Leave a Reply

