The Truth About Rejection…Kaz

15 Aug

A pioneering graduate of the acclaimed RAW/Weirdo school of cartooning, award winning artist and animator Kaz continues to define himself as one of the absolute best in his field. His in-high-demand work is a regular fixture of the American landscape, and can be found in such prevalent places as the Cartoon Network (with animated gems like Camp Lazlo, and the impressive contemporary Droopy short “Thanks A Latté”); Nickelodeon (including hit shows SpongeBob SquarePants and KaBlam! [Kaz’s take on the They Might Be Giant’s song “Dr. Worm” for this program is one of my favorite animated music videos, and is an amazing improvement over the original]); and the Disney Channel (with their most popular show Phineas and Ferb). In addition to his animation work, Kaz has conquered the printed page as well, with his recognizable and iconic style appearing in numerous mainstream periodicals (Nickelodeon Magazine, The New Yorker), and a legion of alternative newspapers (where his syndicated creator-owned Underworld cartoons happily make their home).  I have always felt that the greatest accomplishment an artist can achieve is the ability to transport their audience to another world—the imaginary world of the artist’s own creation. Kaz certainly accomplishes this feat.     

Kaz:

Working in television animation I face rejection on a weekly basis. It could be rejection of a joke, a drawing, a TV show idea, a movie script, a job I’m trying out for. Sometimes I get hurt and depressed and I think I’m being rejected personally. I used to feel the same thing when a newspaper refused to pick up my comic strip or a publisher refused to publish a book collection of my comics. If rejection puts me in a funk, the way I get out of it is to remember what I love to do: write and draw. That’s why I did it as a child. So, I just sit down and start writing and drawing for my own pleasure and soon I’m so wrapped up in creating some new thing that I’ve cured myself of any depression I may have been sliding into. 

Leave a Reply

