The Neptune City-Saturn Town Review #3

22 Jun

In keeping with the fun Japanimation theme which has defined the first two installments of the “Neptune City-Saturn Town Review,” this time around I would like to recommend the wonderful and informative YouTube channel Canudoitcosplaygirl.

This is a very fun series of videos which offers tons of in-depth and candid coverage of the whole anime, manga, and cosplay scene (and I think it serves as a really nice compliment to Princess Peachie).

While I don’t personally know a lot about cosplay, I think Canudoitcosplaygirl is the best place to get exposed to this very theatrical, playful, humorous, and extremely expressive art form. I’ve learned a lot already from the selection of videos I had a chance to view (though not a cosplayer myself, I did come very close to submitting my Neptune City-Saturn Town cartoon to Tech High all the way back in the 1990’s, which was a very Japanimation/cosplay themed comic book that used to be put together by then prevalent cosplayer Heather Vaughn. I even still have the nice pencil sketch Ms. Vaughn sent me at the time, depicting her in cosplay dress. If the whole Tech High thing would have come to fruition, I wonder what Foxy and Chick would have looked like dressed up as Lord Kuruku and Sailor Mercury?).

Canudoitcosplaygirl herself is a delight to watch, with a great amount of that Gilda Radner energy. The channel is also “girl friendly,” which is always nice, and clearly celebrates “geek girl” culture in a positive manner.

I think my favorite post so far was the upbeat room tour which showed off Canudoitcosplaygirl’s cool anime/manga themed décor. Another standout was the segment on the neat Neon Genesis Evangelion merchandise from Japan.

Canudoitcosplaygirl can be found at: http://www.youtube.com/user/Canudoitcosplaygirl?feature=watch

Well, that’s all for now, and remember: “Freedom is Ink on the Page!”

Leave a Reply

